flickr-free-ic3d pan white

Five Regions of Oaxaca

The large state of Oaxaca Mexico is geographically and ethnically diverse. Tradition has it that there are 8 (used to be 7) regions in the state. In performances and dances like Guelaguetza women and men wear traditional costumes that represent the regions. These women are playing that kind of part at a big wedding. However, they apparently couldn't come up with the 8 different costumes, so four women are wearing costumes from the Istmo of Tehuantepec. The costumes represent these regions (left to right) - Istmo, Istmo, Canada, Mixteca, Costa, Istmo, Papaloapan, and Istmo.


Photo by Thomas Aleto and used with his permission


This photo was stolen by Juan Carlos Zamudio and published by Cosomex in a book called Las 16 Maravillas de Oaxaca. Shame on you

82 faves
Taken on February 16, 2008