new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
Shumagin Islands | by geoffp516
Back to photostream

Shumagin Islands

The Shumagin Islands are a group of 20 islands in the Aleutians East Borough south of the mainland of Alaska, USA, at 54°54'–55°20' North 159°15'–160°45' West. The largest islands are Unga Island, Popof Island, Korovin Island, and Nagai Island. Other islands include Andronica, Big Koniuji, Little Koniuji, Simeonof, Chernabura, and Bird. The total land area is 1,192.369 km² (460.376 sq mi) and their total population as of the 2000 census was 953 persons, almost entirely in the city of Sand Point, on Popof Island.

The Shumagin Islands were named after Nikita Shumagin, one of the sailors on Vitus Bering's 1741 expedition to the arctic seas who died of scurvy and was buried on Nagai Island.

0 faves
Taken on July 27, 2011