Jihlava: water fountain, with the Town hall in the background
In 1797, two water fountains were built in the town square, replacing two wooden water wells. The fountains are adorned with two sandstone sculptures of Antique gods, Neptune and Aphrodite, made by Jan Václav Prchal. The paving around the fountains dates back to the 19th century.
An examination of the late Gothic portals reveals that the Municipal Hall is comprised of three houses - of which the most northern one has been the seat of the municipal administration since 1425. The Municipal Hall is the result of a number of interesting and complex alterations in the past.
The annexation of the adjacent house, which took place in the 16th century, led to the creation of a representative hall for the councilor's meetings. It has a unique burnt-brick vaulted ceiling, adorned with didactic inscriptions in Latin, German, and Czech. In 1574, a large wood-paneled courtroom was built in the rear wing of the building. Subsequent alterations to the building, completed in the course of the 18th century, involved the annexation of a third house (on the most southern side), whereby another floor level was added to all three houses. Their diversities were unified with a new Classicist facade and a new roof, topped by a turret with a clock.
One of the most important historic events ever to take place within the walls of the Municipal Hall was a convention held in 1346 known as the Basel Compactata.