new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
Territory of New Guinea and Papua | by Archives New Zealand
Back to photostream

Territory of New Guinea and Papua

On 16 September, 1975, Papua New Guinea was officially recognised as an independent territory.


From 1885, control of the territory now known as Papua New Guinea was shared between two global powers; Germany and Britain. However, twentieth century global politics hugely influenced the islands. In 1906 the United Kingdom transferred its administrative authority to Australia, and both World War One and World War Two impacted Papua New Guinea’s governance and native populations. It wasn’t until 1975 that the former colony finally became a self-governing, sovereign State.


Title: Territory of New Guinea and Papua (R20086433)

Date: Unknown

Archives reference: AAPR W3141 Box 8 315


For further enquiries please email


For updates on our On This Day series and news from Archives New Zealand, follow us on Twitter


Material from Archives New Zealand


Caption information from Radio New Zealand:


4 faves
Taken on August 29, 2016