Greyfriars Tower, Richmond
Late 15th century tower of pleasing design and proportions with high moulded arches to each face and a segmental-headed window above each arch. 2-light belfry openings with perpendicular tracery. Part of a new building which was to replace the 13th-century monastery. The work was stopped by the Dissolution.
The 15th century Tower, one of Richmond's oldest monuments, dominates the Friary Memorial Gardens and holds a position of great importance in the history and development of the town. From the Market Place, Friar's Wynd takes you through one of the two remaining medieval gateways, past the Georgian Theatre to the Friary Gardens where the fine Franciscan Friary bell tower, built by the Greyfriars of Richmond, still stands. The Greyfriars tower represents the northernmost surviving monument to their great, if short lived, impact upon the religious and social life of England. Dating back to the late 15th century, the Tower originally formed part of an expansion of the Friary which was first established by the Franciscan Order in 1257/8 on land granted by Ralph Fitz Randal, Lord of Middleham. The site is unique in that so much of the building has survived to the modern day.