flickr-free-ic3d pan white

Meteor trace

A huge meteor flew over the Urals early in the morning of 02/15/2013. The fireball exploded above Chelyabinsk city that caused damages of buildings and hundreds of people injured.

 

This photo was taken at about 200km distance in a minute after I saw the blast.

 

View original photo at

photos.cyberborean.org/main.php?g2_itemId=6432

 

Read my blog post: blog.cyberborean.org/2013/02/16/meteor

 

Links:

 

youtu.be/iCawTYPtehk

rt.com/news/meteorite-crash-urals-chelyabinsk-283/

www.guardian.co.uk/world/2013/feb/15/hundreds-injured-met...

www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-21468116

 

"The Russia meteor is the largest reported since 1908, when a meteor hit Tunguska, Siberia. The meteor entered the atmosphere at about 40,000 mph (18 kilometers per second). The impact time was 7:20:26 p.m. PST, or 10:20:26 p.m. EST on Feb. 14 (3:20:26 UTC on Feb. 15), and the energy released by the impact was in the hundreds of kilotons.

 

Based on the duration of the event, it was a very shallow entry. It was larger than the meteor over Indonesia on Oct. 8, 2009. Measurements are still coming in, and a more precise measure of the energy may be available later. The size of the object before hitting the atmosphere was about 49 feet (15 meters) and had a mass of about 7,000 tons. "

(NASA)

 

14,849 views
76 faves
19 comments
Taken on February 15, 2013