new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
Canadian House of Commons | by Mica_R
Back to photostream

Canadian House of Commons


The House of Commons was established in 1867, when the British North America Act 1867 created the Dominion of Canada, and was modeled on the British House of Commons. The "lower" of the two houses making up the parliament, the House of Commons in practice holds far more power than the upper house, the Senate. Although the approval of both Houses is necessary for legislation, the Senate very rarely rejects bills passed by the Commons (though the Senate does occasionally amend bills). Moreover, the Government of Canada is responsible solely to the House of Commons. The Prime Minister stays in office only as long as he or she retains the support of the lower house.


The Canadian House of Commons chamber is located in the Centre Block of the Parliament Buildings on Parliament Hill, in Ottawa, Ontario.


Photo: Two photos stitched in Windows Live Photo Gallery.

0 faves
Taken on May 10, 2009