Louisiana Parish Courthouses
Louisiana has some of the oldest courthouses in this part of the country. My home state of Texas only has one acting antebellum courthouse, but Louisiana has four. Those four are the parish courthouses in Claiborne, East Feliciana, Lafourche, and Saint Martin parishes.

With the Iberia Parish Courthouse, I have visited all of Louisiana's 64 parishes as of November 24, 2008. My first courthouse to visit in Louisiana was the East Baton Rouge Parish Courthouse in 2005.

Unlike the other 48 states with counties, Louisiana has parishes, which govern much the same as counties in other states. Parishes, however, are headed by a police jury, which is similar to a city council, and most parishes have presidents, comparable to a city mayor. This tradition dates back to Louisiana's history with France and Spain, which governed the territory at the mouth of the Mississippi under Napoleonic Law, based on the Catholic Church's religious divisions. Louisiana tried to use the county system for a while after achieving statehood in 1812, but the people decided to revert back to their more familiar and unique parish system.

These photographs are placed in alphabetical order based on the name of the parish represented by that photo starting with Acadia Parish and ending with Winn Parish. The map at the end of the set shows you the parishes that I have visited.
90 photos · 6,263 views