Champaign County Forest Preserves
The Champaign County Forest Preserve District is a local, property tax-supported government agency charged with the stewardship of five forest preserves covering 3,885 acres in Champaign County, Illinois. The Forest Preserve District, which covers all but seven sections of Champaign County, was established by referendum in 1935. Due to the Depression and World War II, however, the first park was not opened until 1948.

The five preserves include: Lake of the Woods, River Bend, Sangamon River, Homer Lake, and Middle Fork River.
15 photos · 216 views