Farmers' Market Meeting House Square
Every Saturday, year-round, from 9am until 5pm, there's the Temple Bar Food Market in Meeting House Square.
Did You Know That?
Over the years Bono, Jim Sheridan, Gabriel Byrne, Liam Neeson and Neil Jordan could all be seen strolling through Temple Bar on their way to the Project Arts Centre, which fostered their and many other famous talents in Ireland today
Temple Bar Cultural Trust presents around 400 free outdoor cultural events visited by over 60,000 people each year in Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin’s Cultural Quarter is 15 years old this year (1991-2006)
There are 3,000 residents living within the 13 ha. (28 acres) of Temple Bar
Meeting House Square in Temple Bar is the only purpose-built open-air cinema in Ireland
There are 50 arts and cultural organisations based in Temple Bar including: The Gallery of Photography, The Irish Film Institute, Project Arts Centre, The Gaiety School of Acting, The Ark, The Contemporary Music Centre
Many of the buildings in Temple Bar were specifically designed and built for use exclusively as cultural venues such as the Ark, The Gallery of Photography and the National Photographic Archive
Temple Bar Cultural Trust’s new and restored buildings have won more than 25 national and international awards for architecture, planning and urban design
Temple Bar Cultural Trust has provided more than 35 studios designated exclusively for visual artists in Temple Bar
The Diversions Festival in Temple Bar is Ireland’s largest and longest running outdoor free public festival and is produced and presented by Temple Bar Cultural Trust
Temple Bar was originally designated as the site for a giant public transport centre! The local community of artists and arts organisations lobbied and fought to maintain the creative ambience that made Temple Bar such a special part of Dublin and this led to a visionary decision by the Government in 1991 to regenerate the area as Dublin’s Cultural Quarter.
Every year Temple Bar Cultural Trust hosts many international delegations of arts & culture managers, planners, urban designers, politicians, public servants, trade missions, journalists, researchers, students and academics, all of whom travel to experience the fantastic success of Dublin’s Cultural Quarter. Recent visitors have been from Norway, Korea, Japan, England, Scotland, Bahrain and the US.
Nowhere else in Ireland can you find such an eclectic mix of people, services and things to buy in such an accessible, colorful, friendly and safe area! Temple Bar is home to:
The Irish Stock
A reptile shop
Speakers’ Corner (every Sunday at 4pm)
The Irish Film Institute & Irish Film Archive
Award winning Barber’s Shops
A fishing tackle shop
The Gaiety School of Acting
The National Photographic Gallery
A telephone exchange
The Old House of Parliament (1733)
A farmers’ market
The Diversions Festival – free public outdoor summer cultural festival
The name Temple Bar goes back to the 17th century. The area takes its name from Sir William Temple who was elected Provost of the nearby University of Dublin, Trinity College in 1609, and who built his home in Temple Bar.
Temple Bar was home to Ireland’s original Custom House at the West End of Temple Bar near Christchurch.
In Temple Bar visitors can still sees some of the original city walls of Dublin which date from around the 12th Century.
Temple Bar is home to the oldest purpose built theatre in these islands: Smock Alley Theatre (1622) which will be brought back to life as a theatre in 2007 under a partnership between Temple Bar Cultural Trust and the Gaiety School of Acting.
Fishamble St in Temple Bar was the venue for the world premiere on 13th April 1742 of Handel’s popular oratorio ‘Messiah’ and Temple Bar Cultural Trust now organises an annual Handel festival to commemorate and celebrate Handel’s time in Dublin.
Temple Bar Gallery & Studios was originally a shirt factory and Temple Bar Cultural Trust restored and developed the building in 1994.
Temple Bar Cultural Trust commissioned leading visual artists including John Kindness, Felim Egan, Grace Weir, Kathy Prendergast and Rachel Joynt who created many subtle and unique public art works throughout Temple Bar.
The Friends’ Meeting House (Quakers) at 6 Eustace Street was developed by Temple Bar Cultural Trust in 1993 and is now home to the Irish Film Institute and the Irish Film Archive.
The Temple Bar Food Market (every Saturday) is the longest running open-air farmers’ market in Dublin City.
Temple Bar is home to the longest continuously inhabited house in Dublin City.
You can rent a lighthouse or a castle through the Irish Landmark Trust who are based in Eustace Street in an award winning building restored by Temple Bar Cultural Trust!
There are more than 70 specially commissioned works of public art located throughout Temple Bar.