flickr-free-ic3d pan white

Winners of Government of India-UNDP Biodiversity Awards Announced

Rebeca Grynspan, UN Under Secretary General and UNDP Associate Administrator and Smt. Jayanthi Natarajan, Minister of Environment and Forests with winners of the India Biodiversity Awards in the category of protected areas – Periyar Tiger reserve. The Periyar model of conservation demonstrated by the Periyar Tiger Reserve in Thekkady, Kerala influenced a 2006 amendment to India’s 1972 Wildlife Protection Act.

0 faves
Taken on October 17, 2012