flickr-free-ic3d pan white

Winners of Government of India-UNDP Biodiversity Awards Announced

Rebeca Grynspan, UN Under Secretary General and UNDP Associate Administrator and Smt. Jayanthi Natarajan, Minister of Environment and Forests with winners of the India Biodiversity Awards in the category of community stewardship - Pir Jahania Jungle Suraksha Committee from Gundlaba village in Odisha. The group won the award for their stellar efforts to help regenerate mangrove and forest cover in an area devastated by the super cyclone of 1999. In 12 years since they formed the Committee, forest cover has increased by 63 percent and fish catch, by one to five kg per family.

0 faves
Taken on October 17, 2012