Syracuse NY ~ Erie Canal Museum ~ Canal Boat
The Weighlock Building was occupied by the New York State Department of Public Works until 1954. In 1956, two members of the NYS Canal Society, both state legislators, sponsored legislation to give the building to the NYS Department of Education. In a surprise move, Governor Harriman vetoed the legislation over the almost unanimous vote of the legislature saying that a future highway interchange might claim the building.
The present professional Museum and the attached Syracuse Heritage Area Visitor Center stands as testimony to the work of many dedicated people. Today, the Museum, which is accredited by the American Association of Museums, is visited annually by many thousands of visitors from all 50 states and many foreign countries.
NRHP Building ~ Contibutory