Road sign to rhe ghost town of Prypyat, Chernobyl Exclusion Zone

    Newer Older

    At the beginning of the 90s Belarus, the Russian Federation and Ukraine introduced legislation that defined categories of contamination for affected territories. The level of contamination determined the zone: exclusion zone, zone of obligatory resettlement, zone of voluntary resettlement and zone of regular radiological control. The zoning was developed before the collapse of the Soviet Union (1990) and are therefore similar in all three countries. Initially over 150,000 square metres were classified as Chernobyl-affected territories.

    Photo courtesy of UNDP in Ukraine

    keyboard shortcuts: previous photo next photo L view in light box F favorite < scroll film strip left > scroll film strip right ? show all shortcuts