The village lock-up, built in 1834, is a pyramid-shaped stone structure standing near the edge of the old quarry site. It has a heavy padlocked door and the floor space is about six feet square with a headroom of about eight feet. In the 19th century it was used to lock up drunks overnight before sending them to the Oxford court. More recently it has been opened every May Day. For a small charge visitors can be locked up for five minutes or so, and given a certificate to prove it.