Newcomen Engine and Elsecar Heritage Railway Barnsley Yorkshire
The Elsecar Newcomen Engine is the last Newcomen Atmospheric Engine to remain on its original foundations. Although it has been substantially modified over the years with a new cylinder, piston and beam it remains a unique monument to our industrial past.
The engine was constructed in 1795 with a 42 " bore cylinder and the conventional arch head wooden beam with chain connections to the pump rodding and piston. It was fitted with a larger (48") cylinder in 1801 and the beam replaced with the present cast iron version in 1836. The engine worked continuously until 1923 and on standby until 1930. It was then modified to operate without the pump connected and run occasionally for interested visitors until 1953 when it was understood to be damaged following a demonstration. Latterly it was supplied with steam from the nearby colliery workshops, the original and replacement boilers having been removed.
The associated colliery and ironworks buildings are now a leisure complex with preserved steam railway, antique shops, craft workshops and refreshment facilities.
Credit and thanks to the Stationary Steam Engines website for the information.