Genesee Country Museum - Thomson's Tavern & Store
Thomson's Tavern & Store. Built in 1808, it came to the Genesee Country Village & Museum from Riga, NY and is now located in the Antebellum Village section. Now a little bit of history: Joseph Thomson, from Peru, Massachusetts, erected a one-and-a-half story building along the well-traveled road to Braddock's Bay at what is now Riga Center, NY. His partner David Tuttle, remained in Peru minding another store and sending supplies to Thomson, who was busy establishing a trading post in their new buliding on the western NY frontier. Food and refreshment were available to those journeying through the area or coming to Thomson's for supplies. Drovers passing to and from the Niagara region found lodging for the night in one of the three upstairs bed chambers. A large arched ceiling meeting room or ballroom on the second floor could accommodate additional overnight guests when the place was crowded. A large brick oven in the basement baked bread for nearby settlers whose crude dwellings did not boast ovens. Thomson's old place which served as a store & post office, meeting place and bakery, came from Warren Adams, whose family held the property since acquiring it from Thomsons's heirs in 1845. Located in the Antebellum Village section at the Genesee Country Village & Museum, 1410 Flint Hill Road (George Street) in Mumford, NY.