new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
Grand Haven Mayor Roger Bergman, Jeff Jenks, Sam Janson, Mike Fritz | by Michigan Municipal League (MML)
Back to photostream

Grand Haven Mayor Roger Bergman, Jeff Jenks, Sam Janson, Mike Fritz

The Michigan Municipal League had its Region 3 Education Seminar May 26, 2010 in Montague, Michigan. More that 40 people from dozens of West Michigan communities attended to hear numerous presentations, including one about Traverse City's efforts to become a more pedestrain-friendly community by Traverse City Planning Director Russ Soyring. League Board President Jeff Jenks talked about the importance of being a League member. Other speakers were League CEO Dan Gilmartin; Henry Roesler, Mayor of Montague; Norma Rivas Ricci, of the U.S. Census Bureau; Arnold Weinfeld, director of state initiatives and federal affairs for the League; Summer Minnick, director of state affairs for the League; and Sean Mann, project manager of Let’s Save Michigan.

In addition, four West Michigan communities gave presentations in a spirited competition for the Region 3 nomination for the League’s Community Excellence Award Program and the peer-selected winner was Grand Haven for its unique city goal setting process and promotion. Grand Haven will now go on to compete in the statewide CEA contest being awarded during the League’s annual Convention, Sept 21-24 in Dearborn. Communities represented at the Region 3 meeting were Cedar Springs, Evart, Ferrysburg, Fremont, Grand Haven, Howard City, Kentwood, Ludington, Montague, New Era, North Muskegon, Norton Shores, Pentwater, Roosevelt Park, Rothbury, Shelby, Spring Lake, Whitehall and Zeeland. Region 3 represents the counties of Huron, Lapeer, Saint Clair, Sanilac, Tuscola. Read a blog post about the event here: Details go to

0 faves
Taken on May 26, 2010