new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
Southeast Asia 1945-50 | by davecito
Back to photostream

Southeast Asia 1945-50

Map by Geographia Maps. Published after WWII - The Philippines were independent, but 'French Indochina' was not, thus an estimated publication date of sometime between 1945 and 1953. The borders are not shown here, but French Indochina was divided into 5 provinces - Laos, Cambodia, Cochin China, Annam, and Tonkin (or Tonking). The last 3 were always considered to be "Vietnam," and would be consolidated as such upon independence, though the civil war would temporarily divide the nation again into North and South. Cochin China, meanwhile, which is the region of Vietnam south of Saigon (now Ho Chi Minh City), was historically part of Cambodia, until the late 1700s or early 1800s or so. The historic royal capial of Laos - Luangprabang (or Luang Prabang) would be supplanted by Vientiane (or Vientianne) as the modern capital in the 20th century.

7 faves
Taken on December 13, 2012