new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
Kasteel Waardenburg / Waardenburg Castle | by Bert Kaufmann
Back to photostream

Kasteel Waardenburg / Waardenburg Castle

Highest position on Explore: #357 on Monday, April 12, 2010

Waardenburg Castle nowadays is a remnant of a castle with a polygonal shape dating back to around 1283.

The castle was preceded by a wooden castle built in 1265. It was then known as Hiern Castle, named after the hill is was built on. This wooden castle was founded by a Rudolf Cock. His ancestors owned the castle until 1401, which was then known as Weerdenbergh Castle. This name translates as "washland hill".

During the Eighty Years War, in the 16th century, the castle was taken by surprise and pillaged. The castle was heavily damaged in the process; only its heavy walls and the shells of the towers survived. The castle remained a ruin until 1627 when a Johan Vijgh gained ownership and started partially rebuilding the castle. During this rebuilding the bailey and the southwing, in which the entrance gate was situated, were completely demolished.

In the following centuries the castle was successively owned by the Aylva and Van Pallandt families.

Even in 1895 the eastern wing of the castle was enlarged and fitted with a little stairtower.

Today the castle lies separated from the river Waal by a dike. But in earlier centuries the river flowed by its walls. Waardenburg Castle is now owned by the "Friends of the Castles of Gelderland"-foundation.

24,555 views
51 faves
112 comments
Taken on April 10, 2010