new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
Kwanzaa Candles | by universalhiphopparade
Back to photostream

Kwanzaa Candles

There are seven Kwanzaa candles - three red, a black, and three green.


The black candle is a celebration of being black, of the unique and special qualities each person brings to the whole family or community. It is a candle of the present, of today.


The green candles are vision candles - candles of hopes, dreams, and promises for the future.


The red candles are struggle candles, past candles, candles the color of blood, candles the color of courage.


All seven candles help African Americans to remember a long struggle against injustice, against unfairness, and to promise each other that they will continue to work together against injustice.


Each day, a different candle is lit:


The first symbolizes Umoja (unity).

The second is for Kujichagulia (self-determination).

The third symbolizes Ujima (collective work and responsibility).

The fourth symbolizes Ujamaa (cooperative economics).

The fifth is for Nia (purpose).

The sixth symbolizes Kuumba (creativity).

The seventh is for Imani (faith).

1 fave
Taken on December 27, 2007