Our Neighbour to the South

    Newer Older

    The United Mexican States (Spanish: Estados Unidos Mexicanos (help·info)), or simply Mexico (Spanish: México (help·info)), is a country located in North America, bounded on the north by the United States; on the south and west by the North Pacific Ocean; on the southeast by Guatemala, Belize, and the Caribbean Sea; and on the east by the Gulf of Mexico.[1][2] The United Mexican States comprise a constitutional republican federation of thirty-one states and a federal district, Mexico City, one of the most populous cities on Earth.

    Covering almost 2 million square kilometers,[3] Mexico is the 5th largest country in the Americas by total area and 14th largest in the world. With a population of almost 109 million,[4] it is the 11th most populous country and the most populous Spanish-speaking country in the world.

    As the only Latin American member of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) since 1994, Mexico is firmly established as an upper middle-income country. Elections held in July 2000 marked the first time that an opposition party won the presidency to the Institutional Revolutionary Party (Partido Revolucionario Institucional: PRI), that held it since 1929, culminating a process of political alternation that had begun at the local level since the 1980s.

    1. thisisrobert 95 months ago | reply

      Thanks for the "lesson." I've been to Mexico twice, once in 1968 and once in 2000. Nuevo Laredo and Tijuana, respectively.

    keyboard shortcuts: previous photo next photo L view in light box F favorite < scroll film strip left > scroll film strip right ? show all shortcuts