Little Red Schoolhouse
The Fred Martin Memorial Schoolhouse in Old Town Spring Texas. It is a Texas Historic 1900's Railroad Town. The perfect place to shop, dine and step back in time. The Spring area was first occupied by a tribe known as Orcoquisac Indians who depended on fishing and hunting which they found in abundance in this area. As early as 1745, the Orcoquisac Indians, peaceful artisans on the banks of Spring Creek, established Spring as a trading locale, bartering with Spanish explorers and wandering frontiersmen. The first merchants in Old Town Spring could be considered to be the Trading Posts that were established by the French and later the Spaniards called "El Orcoquisac" where trade with the Indians was brisk. The town was a trading post from 1838, German immigrants from Saxony began settling here in 1840, buying land for as little as 10-25 cents an acre. In the 1870's, Jay Gould's International Railroad was routed thru the town and it began to thrive. Initially a farming community supported by crops, including sugar cane and cotton, Spring, which was originally called Camp Spring, was platted by the Houston & Great Northern Railroad in 1873. That same year, Callahan Pickette became the town's first postmaster. In its early years, Spring served as a commercial center for the surrounding area. It was also a focal point for German settlers, including Carl Wunsche, who was prominent in the town's development. The area still has a strong German heritage. A new rail line reached Spring in the early 20th century and, with a roundhouse and railway shops, the town grew in importance as a rail center. Developer R.l. Robinson subdivided land south of the original town, and the commercial area shifted to accommodate the rail junction. The railroads facilitated the development of the lumber industry; Spring boasted a number of mills, both large and small, in the boom era of lumber production. With the boom came the need for new businesses, including hotels, saloons, an opera house, gambling houses, a hospital and a bank. In 1907, residents established the Spring Independent School District. The loss of the roundhouse and the onset of Prohibition led to population decline, and the saloons, hotels, and other rail-supported businesses closed in the 1920s. Still, the dwindling community persisted, creating a volunteer fire department in the 1950s and sustaining its school district, which integrated in the mid-1960s. As the population began to grow again in the early 1970s, new businesses opened, including many specialty shops, which has become known as Old Town Spring. With its proximity to a growing urban center and, itself an area commercial center, Spring continues to attract new residents and businesses but retains its unique identity and its link to its early history.