new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
Dunleith-1075 | by MSMcCarthy Photography
Back to photostream


The land Dunleith sits on has a long history. There was originally another home here named Routhland, but it burned after a lightning strike in 1855. Mary Routh Ellis Dahlgren, the daughter of the original owner of Routhland, and her husband Charles Dahlgren, rebuilt the following year. However, Mary died a short three years later and Dahlgren had to sell the property to settle the estate. The new owner renamed the home Dunleith.

A side note: Dalhgren was a successful banker since before his marriage to Mary and was a Confederate Brigadier General during the Civil War.


Dunleith became a social center after being purchased in 1886 by Joseph Carpenter. The Carpenters hosted some of Natchez's most lavish parties at the time. In 1976, William Heins purchased the house and turned it into a bed and breakfast. But the house really came back to life when purchased in 1999 by Mrs. Edward Worley and her son, Michael Worley. The Worley's spent a great deal of time and energy renovating and restoring the house and turned it into the inn that exists today.


Dunleith boasts 26 guest rooms and suites, all of which have private bathrooms, antiques and antebellum period replica furniture and cable TV. Some have fireplaces and 16 feature whirlpool tubs. Of special interest to history lovers are the brick steps beside the house which are left from the original Routhland home that burned. There is also a dairy barn and The Gothic Carriage House, now the Castle Restaurant, which date back to the late 1700s and Routhland's early days. You'll also find a magnolia tree that is estimated to be over 250 years old.


1 fave
Taken on August 7, 2010