All Saints Church, Boyne Hill, Maidenhead, Berks
All Saints Boyne Hill is one of the finest examples of the early work of the architect G. E. Street and was completed in 1857. The site is also regarded by many as the premier architectural site in Maidenhead. The unique complex consists of the Church surrounded on the south side by the Old Vicarage, former school and 2 clergy houses. On the south western boundary is an almshouse referred to in the following text.
Street was originally an assistant to Sir Gilbert Scott (1810-1877) perhaps the most famous architect of the period. (English Church Architecture, A Visual Guide, Mark Child, published by Batsford 1981). Street was influenced by Italian styles and materials and he published Brick and Marble Architecture of the Middle Ages in Italy in 1855. One of the assistants in his practice was the designer and writer William Morris who came to prominence slightly later in the period.
Boyne Hill was originally in the Parish of Bray (as indicated on a milestone at the churchyard boundary on the Bath Road.) The Parish of Bray stretched east to west from the outskirts of Windsor to Maidenhead Thicket. It was the vision of the then Vicar the Revd. Austen Leigh to make worship possible for those living furthest away from the Parish Church of St. Michael in Bray. The actual site was chosen by the Bishop of Oxford Samuel Wilberforce from a shortlist provided. The site was generously given by Mr Charles Grenfell of Taplow and the benefactors were Emily and Maria Hulme spinster daughters of the Revd William Hulme one time Vicar of Holy Trinity Reading. The ladies were desirous of a Church to be built for “advanced religion” by which they meant the Oxford Movement.
45 photos · 247 views