new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
Auckland City | by Sids1
Back to photostream

Auckland City

Auckland City (informally Central Auckland) is the territorial authority covering the Auckland isthmus and the islands of the Hauraki Gulf. The Auckland urban area consists of the urban parts of this city and its neighbouring cities, namely North Shore, Waitakere, and Manukau, along with parts of the nearby Papakura, Rodney and Franklin Districts.


Auckland City is the largest city in New Zealand, with the provisional estimated resident population being 425,400 as at 20 June 2005, and lies in the Auckland Region. The Auckland Regional Council is also based in Auckland City.

14 faves
Taken on September 19, 2007