Born on a 19th February 1967 and originally from Newbury, Berkshire (in the UK) I graduated with a degree in Computing Science in 1990 from what was Thames Polytechnic but is now the University of Greenwich in South East London.

After working for IBM (several times) and British Airways and then a small research company in Utrecht in the Netherlands (leading me to live in Amsterdam for a while) I ended up at Xyratex in the UK.

In the UK I have lived in Southsea (Hampshire), Raynes Park (West London), Southampton (Hampshire), Eltham (South East London), Amsterdam (Netherlands), Newbury (Berkshire) (in no particular order) before moving to the US. I lived in Newbury until I was 18 and then moved to Eltham for University at what was then called Thames Polytechnic but is now the University of Greenwich. Whilst living in Newbury I attended Winchcombe primary school, Park House secondary school and St. Barts - St. Bartholomew's - sixth form.

As a kid I was fairly quiet, shy and was bullied a lot. I was heavily into making model aeroplanes along with my best friend Nick Somerville. Our house on Newport road in Newbury was always run down until I bought it from my mother and renovated it. We'd lived well below the poverty line until I started working.

Although I spent the rest of the time moving between locations in the UK, I last counted Southsea, Hampshire as my British home base (Bembridge Crescent) although I have since sold the house.

That said, I took a company relocation to the US in 2005 and now live in Los Gatos, California 95033 (which I love) with my wife Ione and my two kids (Maddie - Madeleine b.1998 and Ollie - Oliver b. 2000) having moved from San Jose in 2010.... Well, to be honest, Maddie now lives in Manhattan, between Wall St and the Brooklyn Bridge during term time at Pace University where she is a sophomore.

I've been a senior firmware development manager, firmware architect, consultant systems engineer and Technical Director for Xyratex NASDAQ:XRTX (a data storage company), and then Seagate {STX} based in Fremont, California - All are part of the 'Silicon Valley' area of mid/northen California - also known as the southern 'San Francisco Bay Area'. In October 2016 I moved to the vSAN team in VMware (Nasdaq: VMW) in Palo Alto, California as a Storage Hardware Architect.

I am not an avid photographer, and never really achieved much in art classes at school but I do like to take photos of our kids, ten {currently} cats and especially of geographical places I have visited. I feel that the latter category is where I have most skill - albeit minor. I also enjoy taking what I call 'desktop wallpaper' photos ie abstract, often close-up, natural patterns that cannot be easily identified just from the picture.

I am/was an aviation buff. (I also have a lapsed UK private pilot's license). I still can't help but look at aircraft and the smell of jet exhaust at an airfield makes me nostalgic to fly again.

I would also count astronomy as an interest although nowadays it is more armchair based. Anything physics or chemistry based gets my attention.

I am also an avid share/stock investor. I'm a contrarian value investor (for those that know the terms) and so far have done well over the last ten years. I have run a share club in the UK and I also studied to become a chartered financial adviser, as well as a chartered engineer and chartered IT professional which is why my full list of post-nominals are:

I like to consider myself a polymath. I'm a trivia hound and, according to my daughter, a walking calculator. My areas of interest include economics (macro and micro but especially the latter), philosophy (esp Nietzsche), physics (as much as I can understand), chemistry (ditto), travel, geography, history, politics, military matters and strategy to name a few (my wife would add 'ranting at traffic' and 'dreadful puns' to that list).

If I had a motto it would be 'I need to know', or maybe 'simplicity is the hallmark of genius'.

I especially like debating issues. I love thinking on my feet and thinking around subjects I have less experience in. I like to think I can bluff my way in any subject, in detail, for 10 to 15 minutes with people realizing I know very little......It's a hobby of sorts.

I also love to travel. Cities fascinate me but the great outdoors is fine when viewed from a safe place :-)

I mentioned politics - well... in the UK I'm a Tory 'Wet' (centrist) and a Conservative Party member. I did not vote in the UK general election due to the shameful way postal ballots were handled by the electoral commission and I didn't receive my papers until 3 weeks after the election.

In the US (now I am a citizen) I joined the Democratic party. This is because I hate the religious element of the Republicans and their idiot falsely moralistic stances. They seem on the verge of madness and appear clueless about economics and the suffering of others.

For the record i was not pro-Brexit.

One last thing. I suffer from an autosomal dominant genetic disease (inherited from my father) called FCAS - familial cold auto-inflammatory syndrome. It basically means too much movement or too much cold or too much fatigue and all my joints start hurting dreadfully (especial hands, feet and knees) and feel as though each has been seriously bruised/sprained. It often hits 5-6 joints simultaneously which means I've had to restrict my movement - sometimes because I simply can't move. It sucks but doesn't stop me working and as a result I enjoy getting out more on the days when I can do so. Luckily a new drug, Ilaris, has completely changed my life by greatly reducing the effects of the disease!

Anyway, I suspect you're bored by now... You may see that I'm a cat addict - we have 10 (we peaked at 11) - enjoy the photos of the family, pets, friends and places we've been. We're only up to 27 US states/territories but we're working on it; personally I'm up to 32.

So, time to sign off....

Photos of Tim Pearce, Los Gatos (32)

Tim Pearce, Los Gatos' favorite photos from other Flickr members (2)

  • P100510PS-0304 by Obama White House
  • Hayedos en Urbasa (Navarra) by Jaume Ventura

Following (13)

See more...

Groups (3)


Testimonials (0)

Tim Pearce, Los Gatos doesn't have any testimonials yet.

Tim (Timothy) Pearce
January 2007
Newbury, Berkshire
Los Gatos, California, USA
I am:
Male and Taken
Snr Firmware Development Manager/Architect/Consultant Systems Engineer
timpearce4816 [at]