The Legislative Assembly is the focal point of our democratic process. It is responsible for the passing of laws, the approval of policies and the developing of programs, all of which affect our way of life in Alberta.


There are 87 Members of the Legislative Assembly. They belong to political parties and each represents a different constituency.


The Legislative Assembly Office (LAO) supports the Legislative Assembly, MLAs and their staff by providing administrative and procedural services and ensures a smooth transition during provincial elections.


The LAO is a unique entity separate from government with the dedication and commitment to provide all Members of the Legislative Assembly, regardless of party affiliation, with the support they need to represent and serve their constituents.


The LAO also informs and educates the public on the parliamentary process through educational and outreach programs. The Speaker is the department head of the Legislative Assembly Office.


For more information about the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, please visit


Follow us:





Read more



Have something nice to say about Legislative Assembly of Alberta? Write a testimonial