We invite you to explore the Northern Region's 16 congressionally-designated wilderness areas, six National Wild and Scenic Rivers, the Continental Divide National Scenic Trail, or 2,539 miles of the Lewis and Clark National Historic Trail, and much more.

(Click on map for a larger view.)


The Northern Region area encompasses 25 million acres and is spread over 5 states. Included are 12 national forests located within the perimeter of northeastern Washington, northern Idaho, and Montana; and the national grasslands in North Dakota and northwestern South Dakota.


As as place for individuals and families to enjoy the outdoors, the Northern Region's public lands offer hiking, camping, fishing, hunting, skiing, kayaking, and countless other adventures. These very special areas protected from development offer the ability to escape the crowds of the city and encounter nature at its best - to experience the solitude and challenges of wildlands.


Forest Service Disclaimers: www.fs.fed.us/disclaimers.shtml


All U.S. Forest Service photos are in the public domain. A creative commons licence for attribution has been added to all photos as the most open license available to select. We ask that you please identify any photo used as "Courtesy USDA Forest Service."

Read more
  • JoinedJuly 2009
  • HometownMissoula, MT
  • Current cityMissoula, MT
  • CountryUSA
View all

Photos of Forest Service Northern Region


Have something nice to say about Forest Service Northern Region? Write a testimonial