Help / I'd like my account/photo to be reviewed by staff

If you've got questions on how to use Flickr, you want to report a bug, or you'd like to contact us, use the menu on the right to get started.

If you'd like to do a little self-help, you can browse the Flickr help pages and the Help Forum.

Or, if you've a question on how to behave on Flickr, then the Community Guidelines might be what you're looking for.

The Flickr Help pages have moved!

In order to not break the Internet and the various links posted to our Help Forum, we will keep these pages at their current location for archival purposes.

Please check out help.flickr.com/ for the most current help content.

What are you having trouble with?

FAQs you might find helpful (5)

  • Where do I set the safety level on my photos?

    You can set a default safety level for photos you upload, on a page in Your Account. Whatever you set here will carry through to any/all upload methods you use.

    To see what your photos are currently set at, go to the Organizr, click "More Options" near the bottom of the page, and filter by safe, moderate, and restricted.

    You can also change whatever default you've set per photo or batch as you upload, and after your content is uploaded. There are batch editing tools available in the Organizr, and on the page where you see one of your photos. Once you click on "show more" next to the "Owner Settings", look for the Content filters heading. Below you can review and edit the Safety level of your photo.

  • My account has been reviewed as safe. What does that mean?

    Having a "safe" account means that you are good at moderating your own content. Awesome!

    If your account is also "NIPSA", you may be one of the people caught up in the transition between the old system of moderation (public, pending, private accounts etc) and the new way (safety level/content type filters). It's fairly likely that if your account is NIPSA, it's because your account was NIPSA pre-transition, and that it may require a review by staff. You can request a review if you wish. It's fairly unlikely that staff would flag an entire account in the new system, given that you have more fine-grained control over the images in your account.

  • My account has been reviewed as moderate. What does that mean?

    Having a "moderate" flag on your account probably means that there are images in your photostream that should have been marked as moderate but weren't. Staff hear about this sort of thing when we receive a report that an image is not moderated properly according to the Content Filters.

    Remind yourself of our Content Filters and Community Guidelines to see what's OK and what's not on Flickr, and moderate your content accordingly.

    To moderate your content:

    1. Go to the Organizr
    2. Load all images (public, private, and friends/family) that need to be marked as Moderate.
    3. Click Permissions > Set safety filter to set them as Moderate.

    If you have images that should be marked as Restricted, repeat steps 2 & 3 for those as well.

    Please note: Private content needs to be moderated as well.

    Once you've done that - and not before - you can request a review.

  • My account has been reviewed as unsafe. What does that mean?

    If your account has been marked as "unsafe" or "restricted" that means there are images in your photostream that should have been marked as restricted but weren't. Staff hear about this sort of thing when we receive a report that an image is not moderated properly according to the Content Filters.

    Remind yourself of our Content Filters and Community Guidelines to see what's OK and what's not on Flickr, and moderate your content accordingly.

    To moderate your content:

    1. Go to the Organizr
    2. Load all images (public, private, and friends/family) that need to be marked as Restricted.
    3. Click Permissions > Set safety filter to set them as Restricted.

    Please note: Private content needs to be moderated as well.

    Once you've done done that - and not before - you can request a review.

  • What are content filters?

    Flickr is a global community made up of many different kinds of people. What's OK in your back yard may not be OK in theirs. Each one of us bears the responsibility of categorizing our own content within this landscape. So, we've introduced some filters to help everyone try to get along. In order for these filters to work, we're relying on *you* to filter your content appropriately.

    There are 2 types of filters that you need to use for your content.

    1. Safety Level

    • Safe - Content suitable for a global, public audience
    • Moderate - If you're not sure whether your content is suitable for a global, public audience but you think that it doesn't need to be restricted per se, this category is for you
    • Restricted - This is content you probably wouldn't show to your mum, and definitely shouldn't be seen by kids

    A good rule of thumb is, bare breasts and bottoms are "moderate." Full frontal nudity is "restricted."

    2. Content Type

    • Photos / Videos
    • Illustration/Art / Animation/CGI or other non-photographic images, or
    • Screencasts / Screenshots - what's a screenshot

    When you upload content to Flickr, you need to choose where it "fits" in these 2 categories. For example, if you want to upload a screenshot of a web page or an online game, you can, but you need to flag it as a screenshot.

    Putting your content into these categories means that everyone can then apply filters to searches they do to make sure they're seeing what they want to see.

    Note: If your login ID is based in Singapore, Hong Kong, India, Korea, Taiwan or with Maktoob.com you will only be able to view safe content based on your local Terms of Service (this means you won’t be able to turn SafeSearch off). If your login ID is based in Germany or Romania you are not able to view restricted content due to your local Terms of Service.

    Bear in mind that all content you upload is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service and our Community Guidelines.

    Here are the main links you'll need to set yourself up.

If you'd like staff to review a photo or your account again, you need to make sure that those photos and/or video comply with the Content Filters and Flickr Community Guidelines.

If you have content that needs to be moderated:

  1. Go to the Organizr.
  2. Load all images (public, private, and friends/family) that need to be marked as Moderate.
  3. Click Permissions > Set safety filter to set them as Moderate.
  4. Load all images (public, private, and friends/family) that need to be marked as Restricted (if any).
  5. Click Permissions > Set safety filter to set them as Restricted.

When you're confident that your content is in good shape for review, let us know and we'll take a look.

From (email):

Subject: I'd like my account/photo to be reviewed by staff
Your question:

(If you're having trouble with your account, please remember to identify your account in some way: either by entering your Flickr username or the url to your photostream in the box above.)

Please type "flickr" into this box: