Help / FAQ / Free Accounts, Upgrading and Gifts

The Flickr Help pages have moved!

In order to not break the Internet and the various links posted to our Help Forum, we will keep these pages at their current location for archival purposes.

Please check out help.yahoo.com/flickr for the most current help content.

How many photos and videos can I upload for free?

When you have a free Flickr account, you can upload up to 1 Terabyte worth of photos.

If you find yourself hitting your limit, you will be able to delete and upload new content, or contact us for further assistance.

Permalink | Top

What’s the difference between a Free, Ad Free, and Doublr account?

There are three kinds of accounts to choose from at Flickr, and all of them are awesome in their own way.

Free:

Ad Free:

Doublr:

Permalink | Top

What's a Terabyte?

Short answer: 1 trillion bytes.

What’s a byte, you ask? All right, we’ll bite. A byte is a teensy unit of measurement for digital information, usually containing 8 bits. (One byte generally contains enough information for a single character on a computer.) Even though one byte is itty-bitty, a trillion bytes is a whole lotta space -- that's over 500,000 photos to share and enjoy in their original, brilliant quality. Snap away!

Permalink | Top

What used to be offered with a Pro account?

Flickr Pro is no longer available for purchase, but many of the Pro-only features are now part of free Flickr accounts.

Here is what you used to get with Pro:

Permalink | Top

What do I now have with a free Flickr account?

Starting on 5/20/2013, members with free accounts on Flickr will have:

Permalink | Top

I've heard that Flickr Pro is no longer being offered. How does that affect me?

As of May 20, 2013, we are no longer offering Flickr Pro subscriptions to the majority of our members. Some things to be aware of (with more details below):

Your Pro pricing remains the same and your benefits have improved:

If you’d like to switch to a free account:

If you’d like to keep your Pro membership:

How to tell whether you are on a recurring payment plan:

Permalink | Top

Is there a page where I can keep track of upgrades I've purchased?

As a matter of fact, there is. Under Your Account, there's an Order History page that gives you an overview of all the upgrade-related transactions on your account.

Permalink | Top

I'm Pro, why do I see ads on Flickr?

If you are pro, we don't show you ads on Flickr, but you may have unintentionally installed a browser toolbar, extension or add-on that is serving them.

You can find information on how to check and uninstall browser extensions on the following pages:

Permalink | Top

Why do I see ads on Flickr?

We are thrilled to offer every Flickr member 1 Terabyte of space going forward. We are an ad supported business so you will see ads on Flickr.

But behold, if you are Pro or have an ad-free account, you won't see any ads on Flickr.

If you are Pro or ad-free and still see ads, you may have unintentionally installed a browser toolbar, extension or add-on that is serving them.

You can find information on how to check and uninstall browser extensions on the following pages:

Permalink | Top

What happens if my Pro Account expires?

Since May 20, 2013, Pro accounts can no longer be purchased. You can enjoy unlimited storage as long as your Pro account is active. If your Pro account expires, it will revert to a free account with a storage limit of 1 Terabyte.

If you need more storage or would like to go ad-free, you can upgrade your account to one of our paid account types.

Permalink | Top

Why is Flickr Pro no longer sold in Brazil?

As of May 20, 2013, we are no longer offering Flickr Pro.

If you have purchased your Pro in Brazil, be aware that the recurring Pro subscription option is not available.

All Flickr Pro members in Brazil will remain Pro until the expiration date of their subscription retaining all the original benefits. Also, Pro members will be able to enjoy the upgraded photo and video size limits offered with our new free account.

Since all the benefits of your Flickr Pro account will be fully maintained until the expiration date of your subscription no refunds will be applicable for Flickr Pro accounts purchased in Brazil.

We’re currently working on making our new paid options available to our Brazilian users.

Permalink | Top

Are my photos ever deleted?

No, your photos will not be deleted, unless you do it yourself, or fail to play by our Community Guidelines.

Permalink | Top

I have an unused gift of Pro code left in my account. Can i still redeem it?

Any remaining Pro membership gifts can still be redeemed before their expiration date. If a gift code hasn't been used within 12 months of the date of purchase, we'll credit the buyer's account with the value of the gift.

Permalink | Top

Can I buy someone a gift account?

At this time, paid accounts cannot be gifted.

Permalink | Top

How much space do I have on Flickr?

Depending on your Flickr account, you have a different amount of available space:

Please note that the available amount of space is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service. To avoid abuse of our free space, we monitor accounts for excessive usage or unusual upload and behavior patterns, as our goal is to ensure that everyone has reliable access to their amazing photos and videos on Flickr.

Permalink | Top

What happens if I exceed my storage capacity?

If you reach the storage capacity on your Flickr account, you can no longer upload additional content. However, you can always free up space by deleting some of your photos or contact us for further assistance.

Permalink | Top

How do I activate my gift of Pro?

Yay! It's easy! Find the activation code you received from your friend (as a gift card or in an email) and go to the Activate your Gift Code page.

If you don't have a Flickr account, we'll help you set one up.

Permalink | Top

Or, return to the Help forum.