Help / FAQ / Groups

The Flickr Help pages have moved!

In order to not break the Internet and the various links posted to our Help Forum, we will keep these pages at their current location for archival purposes.

Please check out help.yahoo.com/flickr for the most current help content.

How do I share a photo with a group?

Easy! If you're a member of the group, add your photo to the group pool. (If not, join the group, because only group members can contribute to the group pool.)

The easiest way to add a photo to a group is to go to the photo's page and click the "Add to a Group" link in the actions menu. Then choose the group you want to add it to, and you're done!

Only you and the group administrators can remove a photo from a group pool.

Note: If you share a photo that you marked as private with a group you are a member of, it's as if other group members have full access to that photo. They can add comments, notes, and tags. The photo isn't displayed for people who aren't members of the group.

Permalink | Top

How do I post a photo in a discussion?

To embed a photo in a group discussion, all you have to do is put the URL to the photo page in [square brackets]. For example, to put this photo in a comment, write this in the comment box:

[http://www.flickr.com/photos/quicksilver/6440861723/]

Voila!

If you need a different sized photo than the small size that the square brackets posts, there are two ways to obtain it. For your own photos or for photos in groups that you administer, click a photo you want to add to a discussion and then open the 'Share This' menu and click 'Grab the HTML'. Choose the size you want up to medium (we'll re-size anything larger than that).

Right-click on the box containing the HTML code and select Copy from the shortcut menu. Go to where you want to paste the photo into the discussion post, right-click, and select Paste. This works for your's or other members' photos who have enabled sharing on their photos.

(psst! want to see what other HTML you can use?)

Permalink | Top

How do group cover photos work?

The cover photo is a place for group admins to highlight a photo they feel represents their group. The photo will appear in the banner on that groups page, and a square version of it will represent the group on members' tiled Groups List page.

If you haven't set a cover photo for your group, a Safe, Public photo from the group will be automatically selected for you. To select a new cover photo, just hover over the cover photo and select "Edit cover photo". You can select any Safe, Public photo from the group or from your own photostream.

Every time a new cover photo is selected for a group, the photo owner will be notified by email. If a photo is deleted or removed from the group, it will no longer be the group's cover photo and another photo from the group will be automatically selected.

Permalink | Top

What's a sticky topic?

A sticky topic is a group discussion topic that sticks to the top of the list. When viewing a discussion topic, group admins and moderators will see a link to "make topic sticky".

A couple notes about sticky topics:

Permalink | Top

What is the difference between public and private groups?

Public groups are listed around the site and on the groups page, profiles, and photo pages if the photo is in a group pool.

There are two types of public groups: anyone can join and invitation only. Group administrators can choose to show or hide the group photo pool and discussion topics at any time.

Private groups are not listed anywhere on the Flickr site. You can join them only by invitation.

Permalink | Top

How do I make a public group private? And vice-versa?

If you are an administrator, go to your Groups page and select the group. Select Administration on the right. Go to Privacy toward the bottom. Click "Make this group private."

You can make a public group private, but a private group cannot be made public.

Permalink | Top

How are groups administered?

When you create a group, you are automatically made its first administrator. As administrator, you can also promote members to help you run the group. You can promote your members to either moderator or administrator status.

A group admin can:

  1. Modify information about the group
    • Create or change the group name
    • Create or change the group description
    • Associate the group with an external URL
    • Create a personalized URL for the group (like your photostream, this URL can only be set once so choose wisely)
    • Determine whether or not your group topics or pool can be viewed by non-members.
    • Create a group icon
  2. Determine group moderation rules
    • What kind of content can be added to the group pool (photos, video or both)
    • Set frequency of group pool submissions
    • Determine what safety level of content is appropriate for the group (“safe”, “moderate” or "restricted")
      Please note that if “moderate” or “restricted” content is allowed, then the group will be flagged as 18+ and only members over the age of 18 or those who can see “moderate” or “restricted” content will be able to participate in the group. There’s more about this in our Filters FAQ.
  3. Create group participation rules

There's no limit on the number of admins a group can have, although you should be aware that once someone becomes an admin, they can never be demoted.

Though there is no limit on the number of admins, we suggest you limit it to those you feel you can trust to maintain the integrity of the group because of the tools available to change group features. Flickr staff won't step in and remove people from your group if someone is abusing their admin privileges.

A group moderator can:

  1. Approve or remove photos from the pool
  2. Moderate group discussions
  3. Remove or ban members

You can read about keeping your group happy on the Tips for Running Your Group page.

Permalink | Top

I'm suddenly the admin of a group I didn't create. What's up with that?

There are two ways you might become a group admin

If you don't want to be the group administrator, you can always leave the group and then just re-join as a member.

Permalink | Top

Who can see photos in a group pool?

Adding a photo to a group pool allows any group member to view your photo and add notes, tags, and comments, regardless of the photo's privacy setting.

Your photo retains the privacy settings you set for anyone who isn't a group member. It also stays in your photostream, available to everyone who can view it. You (or a group administrator) can remove your photo from the pool at any time.

Permalink | Top

How do I leave a group?

Go to your Groups page and select the group you'd like to leave. Next, scroll down to the bottom of the left-hand side bar (which you may need to click to expand), and click on the red link to leave the group.

That's it!

Permalink | Top

How do I delete a group?

The only way to delete a group is to leave the group as the last remaining member. But you can leave the group (described above).

A group can't be deleted if it has more than one member.

Permalink | Top

How can I translate my group into other languages?

If you are an administrator, go to your Groups page and select the group. Next select Administration on the right. Then select Name/URL/Description from the list.

On the left, you'll see a list of available languages. Click the language you'd like to edit, and enter your new translation.

Permalink | Top

Can I create a group for my company?

Commercial use of groups is generally not allowed on Flickr as outlined in the Community Guidelines. The only way a company can run a group is if they work with us on an official Sponsored Group. If you're interested in advertising or learning more about our paid sponsorship program, please contact our Business Development team.

Permalink | Top

Why can’t I submit my photo/video to a group?

We’ve built a new feature to give group administrators more control over the sorts of content they will allow in their pool. If you run a group, you can say “I only want safe, geotagged video in my pool” by choosing from media type, safety level, and whether something is geotagged. There’s more info about this in this Groups FAQ.

Because of these new tools you may get an error when trying to add a photo or video to a group pool. If you get this error, check the group rules against the content you’re trying to add.

Permalink | Top

Or, return to the main help page.