new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white

Drag to set position!

whatsthatpicture ADMIN October 28, 2010
VINTAGE PHOTOGRAPHS. A meta-group of like-minded groups in Flickr around the topic of Vintage Photographs.

SCROLL DOWN --->>> See full group description below for a list of just about every type of Flickr group about vintage photos you could possibly imagine. <<<--- SCROLL DOWN

PLEASE ONLY POST ORIGINAL, TRULY VINTAGE, GENUINE PHOTOS (defined loosely as having been taken pre-1945)

Group Description

VINTAGE PHOTOGRAPHS. A meta-group of like-minded groups in Flickr around the topic of Vintage Photographs (defined loosely as pre-1945).

This is a group created to try to pull together and provide ready access to the amazing diversity of vintage photograph related groups across Flickr. The aim is to maintain this in the same way as other directory/meta-groups, such as the History Directory - www.flickr.com/groups/historydirectory/.

To qualify for listing, any given group must contain primarily vintage photographs (and not just more recent photographs of vintage objects).

I have started a suggested categorisation of groups below but would welcome further suggestions. Plus of course feel free to suggest updates / corrections / additions to the group links themselves. You don't have to to post any vintage photos here, but feel free to do so.

This list is, and will intentionally remain, work in progress....

REGIONS
This section particularly needs fleshing out. Can you recommend any groups focussing on vintage photographs in specific regions?

Global
Geotagged : Vintage Photographs - www.flickr.com/groups/geotagged-vintage/

Americas
Native American Portraits - www.flickr.com/groups/native-american-portraits/
MEXICO VINTAGE - www.flickr.com/groups/502772@N22/
Vintage Latin American Photographs - www.flickr.com/groups/64234962@N00/
the Chinatown Time Travel USA group icon
Chinatown Time Travel USA - www.flickr.com/groups/chinatown_time_travel_usa/
Early Photography in the U.S.A. - www.flickr.com/groups/1680431@N22/
HISTORIA PUERTO RICO - www.flickr.com/groups/510533@N22/
19th Century Canadian Photographs - www.flickr.com/groups/19th_century_canadian_photographs/

Europe
Vintage Britain and Ireland - www.flickr.com/groups/vintage-britain-ireland/
United Kingdom Social History to 1989 - www.flickr.com/groups/socialhistory/
Holland before the year 1920 / Nederland van vóór 1920 - www.flickr.com/groups/nederland_voor_1920_holland_before_...
Vintage Russia - www.flickr.com/groups/vintage_russia/
Vintage France - www.flickr.com/groups/vintagefrance/
Hungarian women 1850-1920 - www.flickr.com/groups/958213@N21/
Sweden before 1945 - www.flickr.com/groups/swedenbefore1945/
Early Photography in Austria-Hungary - www.flickr.com/groups/earlyphoto_austria-hungary/
Early Photography in Germany - www.flickr.com/groups/1553717@N25/
Photography in Interbellum Germany - www.flickr.com/groups/1678486@N21/
Early Photography in Romania - www.flickr.com/groups/earlyphotoinromania/
Danish cabinet cards/vintage photos from Denmark - www.flickr.com/groups/1690651@N25/
Photography in Interbellum Hungary - www.flickr.com/groups/1806922@N24/
Donauschwaben Ancestry - www.flickr.com/groups/donauschwaben/

Africa
?

Middle East
?

Asia
Japanese in Yesteryear - www.flickr.com/groups/japanyesteryear/
Vintage Japan - www.flickr.com/groups/vintagejapan/ (1926-89)
Journey to the Old Orient - www.flickr.com/groups/1101726@N22/
Old China - www.flickr.com/groups/old-china/

Australia / New Zealand
Vintage Australian Photos - www.flickr.com/groups/1491833@N23/
Old New Zealand - www.flickr.com/groups/old_new_zealand/

SUBJECT OF PHOTOGRAPH

People
Vintage Kids - www.flickr.com/groups/vintagekids/
Vintage Portraiture - www.flickr.com/groups/vintage_portraiture/
The Smiling Victorian - www.flickr.com/groups/513477@N22/
Vintage Eyes That Speak - www.flickr.com/groups/vintage-eyes/
Who are these (unidentified) people? - www.flickr.com/groups/unidentifiedpeople/
Vintage Female Photos - www.flickr.com/groups/59267342@N00/
Nostalgic Beautiful Women Pin-ups 1800's-1950's - www.flickr.com/groups/979437@N23/
Vintage Geisha - www.flickr.com/groups/vintage_geisha/
Vintage Teens - www.flickr.com/groups/vintageteens/
Civil War Era Portraits - www.flickr.com/groups/cwep/
Victorian Photographic Portraits of People - www.flickr.com/groups/889472@N20/
Vintage Family - www.flickr.com/groups/vintagefamily/
Vintage Men in the Military - www.flickr.com/groups/20551686@N00/
Early Photography Wedding Portraits - www.flickr.com/groups/687625@N25/
Old Group Portraits - www.flickr.com/groups/681825@N25/
Vintage Pics of Male Togetherness - www.flickr.com/groups/671004@N25/
Black People - Vintage African American Images of the Past - www.flickr.com/groups/69668528@N00/
Born in the eighteenth century - www.flickr.com/groups/1211225@N20/
Hidden Mother : Tintypes and Cabinets - www.flickr.com/groups/1264520@N21/
Vintage pierrots (real people) - www.flickr.com/groups/vintage_pierrots_/
Vintage Orphaned Photographs - www.flickr.com/groups/1256993@N22/
Vintage Women Hairstyles and Fashions Pre 1950s - www.flickr.com/groups/1194041@N24/
Abandoned relatives - www.flickr.com/groups/97862331@N00
Genealogy - www.flickr.com/groups/genealogy/
Victorian Children - www.flickr.com/groups/1352064@N20/
Victorian Photographic Portraits of People - www.flickr.com/groups/889472@N20/
The spooky Victorian - www.flickr.com/groups/1331714@N24/
Vintage Beauties in Profile - www.flickr.com/groups/1460948@N20/
Vintage Photos of Men Smoking Pipes - www.flickr.com/groups/1524820@N21/
Victorian Beauty - www.flickr.com/groups/victorianbeauty/
Vintage Beards - www.flickr.com/groups/1768000@N22/
The Victorian Mother - www.flickr.com/groups/thevictorianmother/
The Victorian Father - www.flickr.com/groups/thevictorianfather/
Early Photographs of Children with Flowers - www.flickr.com/groups/1790492@N21/
Vintage Photographs of Children Near Fountains (pre 1945) - www.flickr.com/groups/children_near_fountains/
~ Vintage Love ~ Love captured - www.flickr.com/groups/vintagelove/
Victorian Beauty - www.flickr.com/groups/victorianbeauty/

Places
(not for specific geographical locations - see above)
Vintage Gardens & Gardeners - www.flickr.com/groups/684463@N21/
Vintage Seaside - www.flickr.com/groups/vintage_seaside/
Vintage Home Interiors - www.flickr.com/groups/39777612@N00/
Vintage exteriors: Old photos of streets & buildings - www.flickr.com/groups/vintage-exteriors/
Vintage Panorama Photos - www.flickr.com/groups/vintagepanoramaphotos/

Natural World
Antique Photographs of Nature - www.flickr.com/groups/antique_nature/
Vintage Landscapes - www.flickr.com/groups/vintage-landscapes/
Vintage Animals - www.flickr.com/groups/vintage_animals/
Vintage Pets - www.flickr.com/groups/vintagepets/
Antique Cat Photos - www.flickr.com/groups/70028700@N00/
Vintage photos of dogs and cats - www.flickr.com/groups/393862@N23/
Old Photos With Dogs - www.flickr.com/groups/92873396@N00/
Old Photos with Horses - www.flickr.com/groups/35627935@N00/
Old Photos With Bears - www.flickr.com/groups/17287937@N00/
Vintage Wire Fox Terriers - www.flickr.com/groups/vintagewirefoxterriers/
Antique Animals - www.flickr.com/groups/antiqueanimals/
Vintage People with Animals - www.flickr.com/groups/1146556@N23/


Objects
Playthings of the Past: Antique Photos of Dolls, Toys, & Games - www.flickr.com/groups/437888@N25/
Early Photographs of Dolls - www.flickr.com/groups/2031061@N23/
Vintage Bikes - www.flickr.com/groups/vintagebikes/
Vintage Cyclists - www.flickr.com/groups/1082623@N25/
Vintage Parasols - www.flickr.com/groups/vintage-parasols/
Period Photographs of Transportation (pre-1980) - www.flickr.com/groups/periodpictures_cars/
Eyeglasses in Vintage Photography - www.flickr.com/groups/1487997@N23/

Activities / Events
Vintage Occupational Photographs - www.flickr.com/groups/847277@N21/
Vintage Readers - www.flickr.com/groups/1088961@N22/
Vintage Musicians - www.flickr.com/groups/vintagemusicians/
Early Photography Wedding Portraits - www.flickr.com/groups/687625@N25/
Vintage Cyclists - www.flickr.com/groups/1082623@N25/
OLD BLACK & WHITE CYCLING PHOTOS - www.flickr.com/groups/611017@N23/
Antique Christmas: 1830-1945 - www.flickr.com/groups/antiquechristmas
19th Century Sports Photographs - www.flickr.com/groups/19centurysportsphotos/
Vintage tea and cake - www.flickr.com/groups/vintageteaandcake/
Vintage Boy Scouts - www.flickr.com/groups/1542559@N23/
Vintage Photos of Men Smoking Pipes - www.flickr.com/groups/1524820@N21/
Vintage Vacations - www.flickr.com/groups/vintagevacations/

THEMES

Military
Military History - www.flickr.com/groups/military-history/
Vintage Men in the Military - www.flickr.com/groups/20551686@N00/
Photographs of the Civil War - www.flickr.com/groups/civilwarphotos/
The Great War Archive Flickr Group - www.flickr.com/groups/greatwararchive/
World War II Vintage Photos - www.flickr.com/groups/worldwar2/
Images of World War Two - www.flickr.com/groups/792808@N24/
Civil War Era Portraits - www.flickr.com/groups/989247@N21/

Risque/Erotic
Warning, this groups contain material only suitable for adults and show full frontal nudity, and sometimes more! Please only visit these groups if you are of a suitable age and not offended by material of a sexual and possibly explicit nature.
Vintage_nudes - www.flickr.com/groups/565662@N24/
vintage nudes - www.flickr.com/groups/vintagenudes/
Retro / Vintage Risque erotic photos - www.flickr.com/groups/1197929@N21/
Vintage Erotism - www.flickr.com/groups/648861@N22/

Miscellaneous genre
Souvenir Photos (Vintage) - www.flickr.com/groups/souvenirphotos/
Vintage Floraflage - www.flickr.com/groups/490839@N23/
Vintage Background People - www.flickr.com/groups/1056855@N21/
Curiouser and curiouser! - www.flickr.com/groups/971387@N24/
Vintage Spirit Photography - www.flickr.com/groups/vintage-spirit-photography/
It's Only a Paper Moon - www.flickr.com/groups/854838@N24/
The Snapshot - www.flickr.com/groups/thesnapshot/
Vintage Photo Booth - www.flickr.com/groups/572826@N20/
Funny Found Photos - www.flickr.com/groups/877194@N22/


ERA
Dated Vintage Photographs (pre 1945) - www.flickr.com/groups/vintage-dated/
150 Years Old - www.flickr.com/groups/150-years-old/
Civil War Era Portraits - www.flickr.com/groups/989247@N21/
Born in the eighteenth century - www.flickr.com/groups/1211225@N20/
Vintage Victorian - www.flickr.com/groups/56679277@N00/
100 years old - www.flickr.com/groups/100_years_old/
~ THE 20th CENTURY ~ - www.flickr.com/groups/The20thCentury
Photos from 1900 - 1910 - www.flickr.com/groups/1900-1910/
Photos from 1910 - 1920 - www.flickr.com/groups/1910-1920/
Photos from the 1920s - www.flickr.com/groups/1920s/
Photos from the 1930s - www.flickr.com/groups/1930s/
Photos from the 1940s - www.flickr.com/groups/1940-1950/
1920's - www.flickr.com/groups/roaringtwenties/
Original 1920s - www.flickr.com/groups/844313@N21/
Pre-1930 Photos - www.flickr.com/groups/42918849@N00/
Original 1930s Photos - www.flickr.com/groups/44309031@N00/
Original 1940s Photos - www.flickr.com/groups/36236446@N00/
World War II Vintage Photos - www.flickr.com/groups/worldwar2/
Nineteenth Century Ambrotypes - www.flickr.com/groups/ambrotypes/

TECHNIQUES / TYPES
Daguerreotypes - www.flickr.com/groups/dags/
Magic Lanterns - www.flickr.com/groups/magiclantern/
Vintage Stereoviews - www.flickr.com/groups/stereoviews/
Antique Stereo - www.flickr.com/groups/1328516@N23/
Cartes de Visites - www.flickr.com/groups/905260@N23/
Cabinet Cards - www.flickr.com/groups/53056177@N00
/
Best Cabinet Card Photographs Uncommon - Rare and Beautiful - www.flickr.com/groups/1058358@N20/
Hand Colored Photographs (Vintage) - www.flickr.com/groups/handtinted/
Tintypes, ambrotypes, Wet-plate Collodion photographs - www.flickr.com/groups/wetplate/
cyanotype - www.flickr.com/groups/cyanotype/
Postcards Vintage - www.flickr.com/groups/vintagecards/
Vintage Photo Borders - www.flickr.com/groups/vintageborders/
Advertising Cabinet Photographs - www.flickr.com/groups/1040823@N24/
Vintage Photographic Amusements (Trick Photography) - www.flickr.com/groups/photographicamusements/
Vintage Photo Booth - www.flickr.com/groups/572826@N20/
Glass Negatives - www.flickr.com/groups/glassnegatives/
The Flip Side - www.flickr.com/groups/1202241@N21/
Studio backs only...tribute to victorian era photographers - www.flickr.com/groups/1294413@N22/
Photographs with writing on back - www.flickr.com/groups/1143082@N22/
Vintage Panorama Photos - www.flickr.com/groups/vintagepanoramaphotos/
Nineteenth Century Ambrotypes - www.flickr.com/groups/ambrotypes/
The Calotype Society - www.flickr.com/groups/1384661@N22/
Vintage Copies of Early Images - www.flickr.com/groups/1649643@N25/
Old Picture Post Cards of People and Places - www.flickr.com/groups/1654070@N21/

PHOTOGRAPHERS
Portrait Studios - Pre-1950 - www.flickr.com/groups/pre1950portraitstudios/
Pioneers of Photography - www.flickr.com/groups/pioneersofphotography/
Emulating Frith - www.flickr.com/groups/emulatingfrith/ (the closest I have found to a group representing one individual photographer!)
Vintage Photo Studios - exteriors, interiors and equipment - www.flickr.com/groups/vintage-photo-studios/
Outside the Studio - www.flickr.com/groups/outsidethestudio/

GENERAL
Vintage photography - www.flickr.com/groups/658876@N23/
Antique Photographs - www.flickr.com/groups/28458547@N00/
Historic & Old Photos - www.flickr.com/groups/historicandoldphotos/
Old Photographs - www.flickr.com/groups/oldphotographs/
Flickrs Top Vintage Photos (invited only) - www.flickr.com/groups/topvintage/
Collectionner la photo ancienne - www.flickr.com/groups/12386535@N00/
Old photos and good old memories - www.flickr.com/groups/65533462@N00/
Vintage Escape - www.flickr.com/groups/vintage-escape/
Faded Photographs - www.flickr.com/groups/370170@N23/
"Old Pictures & Postcards" - www.flickr.com/groups/old_pictures/
Old photos ! - www.flickr.com/groups/old-photos/
VINTAGE PHOTO SHARING - www.flickr.com/groups/46226460@N00/
Beautiful Vintage Memory - www.flickr.com/groups/1166641@N20/
Old Photographs given new life. - www.flickr.com/groups/789116@N23/
Collectionner la photo ancienne - www.flickr.com/groups/12386535@N00
Looking into the past - www.flickr.com/groups/lookingintothepast/
VINTAGE PHOTOS ONLY- FOTOS ANTIGAS SOMENTE - www.flickr.com/groups/1667258@N22

MYSTERY PHOTOS
What's That Picture? - www.flickr.com/groups/whatsthatpicture/
Found photographs - www.flickr.com/groups/foundphotos/
Photo Trouvée - www.flickr.com/groups/phototrouvee/
Who are these (unidentified) people? - www.flickr.com/groups/unidentifiedpeople/
B&W Found Photos - www.flickr.com/groups/bwfoundphotos/
The Museum of Found Photographs - www.flickr.com/groups/47255139@N00/
Mysterious Vintage Photos - www.flickr.com/groups/mysteriousvintage/
Where? - unidentified places - www.flickr.com/groups/59937588@N00/
Found photos detectives - www.flickr.com/groups/foundphotodetectives/
Vintage Orphaned Photographs - www.flickr.com/groups/1256993@N22/
Identified Vintage-Antique Photos - www.flickr.com/groups/identifiedvintage-antiquephotos/
The Astonishing Power of Flickr - www.flickr.com/groups/flickrdiscoveries/

SEE ALSO
Related areas on Flickr
Flickr Commons - www.flickr.com/commons
History Directory - www.flickr.com/groups/historydirectory/

Group Rules

Please note that only original, vintage photographs should be added to this group.

'Vintage' is defined here as roughly 1945 or earlier

Additional Info

  • Members can post 1 thing to the pool each day.
  • Accepted content types: Photos, Images
  • Accepted safety levels: Safe
Groups Beta