3d pan white

Drag to set position!

Join the group to start a discussion!

Group Description


Named by Rolling Stone Magazine as one of the Top 20 guitarists of all time and the recipient of both an Ivor Novello Award for songwriting and the 2006 BBC Lifetime Achievement Award, Thompson first emerged in 1967 as a founding member of British folk-rock innovators Fairport Convention before carving out an extremely successful solo career and establishing himself as one of the leading singer-songwriters of his generation. Over his career he has collaborated with Linda and Teddy Thompson, Nick Drake, Elvis Costello, Bob Dylan, Loudon Wainwright III, David Byrne and director Werner Herzog amongst others.

He follows in the footsteps of past Meltdown directors Ornette Coleman, David Bowie, Morrissey and other luminaries, curating a festival that will take place across the 21-acre Southbank Centre site and reflecting the diversity of his career and enduring influence.

Richard Thompson's Meltdown takes place in June. The full line-up will be announced shortly.

Previous Southbank Centre Meltdown directors are MASSIVE ATTACK (2008), JARVIS COCKER
(2007), PATTI SMITH (2005), MORRISSEY (2004), LEE ‘SCRATCH’ PERRY (2003), DAVID
BOWIE (2002), ROBERT WYATT (2001), SCOTT WALKER (2000), NICK CAVE (1999), JOHN
(1995), LOUIS ANDRIESSEN (1994) and GEORGE BENJAMIN (1993). The roster of artists who
have taken part in earlier Meltdowns include: Grace Jones, Elbow, Horace Andy, Primal Scream,
MC5, Pete Doherty, Jesus & Mary Chain, Iggy & The Stooges, John Barry, Melanie, Motorhead,
Jeff Buckley, Radiohead, Elliot Smith, Nina Simone, David Gilmour, Coldplay, Yeah Yeah Yeahs,
Macy Gray, Alan Bennett, Nancy Sinatra, New York Dolls, Tori Amos, Lee Hazlewood, Fuckhead,
Rachid Taha, Yoko Ono, Sinead O'Connor, Beth Orton, Kristin Hersh, Billy Bragg and Steve Earle.

Additional Info

  • Accepted content types: Photos, Videos, Images, Art, Screenshots
  • Accepted safety levels: Safe
Groups Beta