MOD
mb_wen 6:24pm, 14 February 2009
I know we started talking about it at the last meeting a little, but I can't recall right now what the answer was. How/where in Lightroom are the changes you make to each shot stored? I notice that they aren't in the same original location as the photos that are being edited, so does that mean they're in a 'temp' file someplace other than with the shots?

Just curious because I had backed up all my pics before my HD crashed, and now after re-loading everything, none of the changes are there anymore. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
admin
When you upload photos to Lightroom it creates a small file of each photo that can only be used in Lightroom to make adjustments on or to upload galleries to the web, etc. In order to save the adjustments you have to export the file(s) to your hard drive.

What I do is I have "dump" files for each month of the year on both my hard drive and my external drive. Then whenever I upload photos they are all always saved in two places in their original form. I then have various files to export edited photos to, in order to give me easy access to the photos I want to print and for client work.
admin
JustinSinks 9 years ago
Yeah, lightroom saves your edits in its database unless you export your edited photos. If you loose that database, your screwed. Did you back up your lightroom folder by chance? You may just have to find it in your back up drive and dump it in your new lightroom folder.
MOD
mb_wen 9 years ago
That's what I was wondering, any clue where within that lightroom folder it would be located? Not that it matters for all the previous changes, they're lost now, but if I could set that up to be backed up as well, that would be a good plan.
admin
JustinSinks 9 years ago
Its called your catalog, and it should be in pictures/lightroom/lightroom 2 catalog.lrcat.
If you backup your whole pictures folder, you should still have a backup.
admin
HBRstudios 9 years ago
All of my final edits are done in CS3, anyway (right click and select "edit in...",) and that file is saved with all adjustments in the same folder with the same name +"edit" at the end. All of these would be recovered fully even if the Lightroom database is compromised.
Groups Beta