new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
Yoko Ono Lennon & Josh Fox | by Yoko Ono official
Back to photostream

Yoko Ono Lennon & Josh Fox

The LennonOno Grant for Peace was created by Yoko Ono Lennon to honour her late husband John Lennon’s dedication to peace and commitment to the preservation of human rights.


Created in 2002, this biennial award has always been given to two recipients.


To mark this special anniversary year, Yoko Ono presented this award to four recipients who have been selected based on their courage and commitment to peace, truth and human rights.


The recipients are:


Filmmaker Josh Fox wrote and directed the documentary feature film Gasland in 2010. Josh’s work is known for its mix of gripping narrative, heightened imagery and its commitment to socially conscious themes and subjects.


Barbara Kowalcyk was propelled into food safety advocacy in 2001, when her two-year-old son, Kevin, died after suffering an E.coli infection from tainted food. Barbara and her mother Patricia Buck created the Center for Foodborne Illness & Prevention (CFI) a national non-profit organization committed to improving public health by preventing foodborne illness through research, education, advocacy and service.


Author Michael Pollan has been writing books and articles about the places where nature and culture intersect: on our plates, in our farms and gardens, and in the built environment. He is the author of numerous best sellers, most recently Food Rules: An Eater’s Manual.


Author, poet, and activist Alice Walker is known for her brave stance against racism, sexism, and human rights issues. In 2009, she traveled to Gaza along with a group of 60 other female activists from the anti-war group Code Pink to oppose the controversial blockade and violence against Gaza by Israel and Egypt. Her book Overcoming Speechlessness documents her experiences in Gaza and abroad.


0 faves
Taken on October 9, 2010