In 1879, Charles Elliott Perkins, an eastern railroad baron, purchased 240 acres near Colorado Springs in a place called the Garden of the Gods to build a summer home for his family. While Perkins eventually added to the acreage he owned there, he never got around to building a home, but kept the land open to the public to view the unique geological formations of the land. Near the end of his life, Perkins had decided to turn the now 480 acres of property into a park, but died in 1907 before implementing his plans. Two years later, his children, knowing their father's wishes, deeded the land to the City of Colorado Springs on the condition that the land forever be maintained as a park, open to the public for free, that no "intoxicating liquors" be manufactured, sold or served there, and that no buildings be erected except those necessary to maintaining the public park. More than a century later, the Garden of the Gods remains a free, open, public park visited by thousands.