You aren't signed in     Sign In    Help

Gmail phishing attempt

the contextual search picks up on phishing here
URL that I'm hovering over for the update account link.
Gmail phishing attempt by mathowie.
Fascinating new bogus email from the "Gmail Team" that links to a currently live app at secure.us-gmail.com/ designed to snarf up all your google login details. 
This photo has notes. Move your mouse over the photo to see them.

Comments

view profile

chrismear  Pro User  says:

Apart from the nswebhost.com thing, everything there looks pretty convincing to your average web user. Worrying.
Posted 22 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

delfuego  Pro User  says:

Well, and the glaring grammar and spelling errors.
Posted 22 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

chrismear  Pro User  says:

*average web user*, I said. Most people don't pick up on spelling and grammar 'errors'.
Posted 22 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

mathowie  Pro User  says:

Yeah, I was surprised that anyone was going for gmail logins (I guess all google's stuff is yours to control with that one login) and it did look pretty convincing, even the domain name.

Here's the source with all headers for this phishing email

It seems like Gmail's own filters should be really good at sniffing these out and killing them as spam before they ever make it to the user.
Posted 22 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

davidfg  Pro User  says:

They may want to ask your friends to send money.

Looks like it's from Indonesia.
www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=202.152.24 3.162
Posted 22 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

pjern  Pro User  says:

You know, I'm a pretty pacifistic sort of individual. That said, I have extreme urges towards violence toward these scumbags and lowlifes for screwing with my internet.
Posted 22 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

scarabic says:

>>I guess all google's stuff is yours to control with that one login

Especially all the "forgot your email" messages you've ever received, allowing login to other sites. Who knows, maybe one of them does something interesting... Amazon or such?
Posted 22 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

partyallnight  Pro User  says:

38000+ spammm !!!!!!!!
Posted 21 months ago. ( permalink )

Would you like to comment?

Sign up for a free account, or sign in (if you're already a member).

[?]
view photos Uploaded on March 6, 2008
by mathowie

mathowie's photostream

3,804
uploads

Tags

Additional Information

AttributionNoncommercialShare Alike Some rights reserved Anyone can see this photo

Add to your map