You aren't signed in     Sign In    Help

Blocked?

Blocked? by jluster.
Wiki Wednesday and, in fact, all Socialtext sites are blocked by Google. Nice move in dealing with a competitor? 

Comments

view profile

slowburn♪  Pro User  says:

what is the "interstitial" site on Google?
Posted 36 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

bopuc  Pro User  says:

www.stopbadware.org/home/contact_general

StopBadware is run out of the Berkman Center, not Google. The team at Berkman are good, well meanign folks. Go easy on 'em.
;)
Posted 36 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

map  Pro User  says:

Well, it had to happen sooner or later...
Posted 36 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

jluster  Pro User  says:

Boris, the Berkman Center is named after the very Mr. Berkman who's making his money infecting computers with Malware, namely MyWebSearch and Zwinky. Just because some good people are faculty and staff there doesn't mean it's a good place all in all. I like some members of the Army as well, and am friends with some Microsofties, that doesn't mean I am a fan of the Commander in Chief or think we're doing a good job, or that I'll buy or run Windows software.
Posted 36 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

bopuc  Pro User  says:

Sorry Jonas but I could find no such references. Would love to see your sources on that. :)
Oh and that's not to say I think Google and such aren't "evil" ;)
Posted 36 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

jluster  Pro User  says:

Gladly:

www.spython.com/spywaredetails.aspx?id=132 - MyWebSearch

this piece of BadWare is installed predominantly through FunWebProducts: funwebproducts.com/, you can see a screenshot of the browser bar here: funwebproducts.com/fwp-site-map.html.

In fact, the Zwinky/FunWebProducts EULA and TOS can be found under this URL: helpint.mywebsearch.com/intlinfo/eula/eula.jh tml

Zwinky and the other MyWebSearch peddlers are owned by IAC Search And Media: info.zwinky.com/zwinkyinfo/tos.jhtml

... which is profiled here: www.marketwatch.com/tools/quotes/profile.asp? sid=2064289&...

one click to: www.marketwatch.com/tools/quotes/person.asp?p id=106039 and we find WILLIAM BERKMAN, Director, Iac Interactivecorp.

That'd be the man. Now Google has some more on this, search it for "Berkman Spyware", "Berkman Adware", "Bekman IAD Interactive", or "Berkman MyWebSearch".
Posted 36 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

bopuc  Pro User  says:

Hmm. That don't be the man... I don't see a William in here:
cyber.law.harvard.edu/home/berkman_family_gif t
Jack, Myles.. nope no William.
Might be a distant cousin? ;)

Your attacks are a bit hamfisted dude. Besides which, have you contacted them yet? I doubt SB would block SocialText merely at the behest of Google.
Posted 36 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

jluster  Pro User  says:

www.iac.com/index/management/board_of_directo rs/bio_bod_w...

"Mr. Berkman’s family established the Berkman Center For Internet & Society at Harvard Law School".

Still hamfisted? And, yes, contacted. I doubt they blocked anyone at the behest of Google, but they block. They're censors despite a ten year proof that such censorship doesn't work, is prone to let bad apples through and block good ones, and despite the fact that Berkman itself did - for years - fight the fight against such initiatives. But because Berkman doesn't tell me WHY they blocked, I assume they did it arbitrarily. In the absence of clarity, assume the worst. That's true for politics and true for reasons for filtering.
Posted 36 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

bopuc  Pro User  says:

Assuming a connection between Willaim B. and the Center is tenuous at best, especially the one where you imagine him calling them, or "the Family", up and saying "hey you guys mind f I make money selling malware?" ;)

Anyways, I poked around the stopbadware site and do agree that the fact that there is no information and no easy recourse for inquiry is *terrible*. Kinda shocking in fact. I do know however that they are aware of this (and this thread). Let's see what happens ;)

Meanwhile, seems ST is no longer "blocked"...
Posted 36 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

wwjfd says:

hey bopuc,
why are you seemingly so bent on defending a person who is documented to be part of a corporation that installs spyware, malware, and adware on people's computers.
You were given a link www.iac.com/index/management/board_of_directo rs/bio_bod_w... to prove that Mr. William is involved in this, yet in your response you try to use what is known as redirection to deny the proven allegations. Do you work for these assholes? What kind of interest would you have in polishing their public persona/
Posted 32 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

bopuc  Pro User  says:

wwjfd: uh why are you so bent on being an asshole yourself? :)
"proven allegations"? that the guy is somehow related? so what? I think I stated my OPINION quite clearly, fuck-you-very-much. bye bye!
Posted 32 months ago. ( permalink )

Would you like to comment?

Sign up for a free account, or sign in (if you're already a member).

[?]
view photos Uploaded on January 4, 2007
by jluster

jluster's photostream

1,365
uploads

Tags

Click this icon to see all public photos and videos tagged with for for

Additional Information

AttributionShare Alike Some rights reserved Anyone can see this photo

Add to your map