Here the number 26 and the initials NY are clearly visible. The writing differs from other mile markers in Westchester where the markers were replaced in the 19th century like mile marker 23 in Mamaroneck or 21 in Larchmont.
A plaque on the marker reads:
"This is one of some 230 markers erected on the Boston Post Road
Their locations were fixed by Benjamin Franklin the Deputy Postmaster General who for that purpose drove a chaise with a distance recorder over the route.
Restored to this its original position June 1st, 1927, by the village of Rye."
"Remove not the ancient landmark which thy fathers have set." (Proverbs XXII Verse 28.)
A charming depiction of Ben Franklin traveling the Boston Post Road circa 1763 can be found at the US Department of Transportation's website: www.fhwa.dot.gov/rakeman/1763.htm
Restoration of these original mile markers to their place on Boston Post Road was spearheaded by the President of the Village of Rye in 1927, John Motley Morehead; he reasoned "there are so few landmarks in America having an age that these landmarks possess"
Celebrating 20 Years of Protecting, Preserving and Interpreting American History and Landscape
The Jay Heritage Center
210 Boston Post Road, Rye, New York 10580
Phone: (914) 698-9275
Fax: (914) 835-8547
Follow us on Twitter: twitter.com/jayheritage