You aren't signed in     Sign In    Help

Blueworld spam

Charl Norman's girlfriend
I find it weird that this is the only image in the e-mail. No logo to push the Blueworld brand. So it's not even well constructed spam, lol
Blueworld spam by coda.
I only used my "run@coda.co.za" e-mail alias to sign up for two half marathon's and a trail series that I participated in this year. So one of them clearly neglected to protect their database or (let's hope not) sold the address, and now I'm getting Blueworld spam from Jade!

Awesome, thanks for that. Just what I asked for.. not. Respect my privacy, you bitches! Who authorised this?

Time to put an end to that alias. *sigh* 
This photo has notes. Move your mouse over the photo to see them.

Comments

view profile

bsdguru  Pro User  says:

Isn't that Charl Norman's girlfriend (managing member of blueworld)?
Posted 17 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

coda  Pro User  says:

I don't know. Why is she spamming me? I wonder how she feels about having her face landing up in random inboxes.
Posted 17 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

warrenski  Pro User  says:

Fuck dude, that's shit. Just say the word and I'll help you fight this. I'm sick to death of the way local companies disregard privacy.
Posted 17 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

jodyodea  Pro User  says:

various s.african airlines have been spamming me since i booked on their websites 2 years ago. hum
Posted 17 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

bsdguru  Pro User  says:

Send an email to whoever blueworld uses as their hosting provider (generally they get given 24-hours to move their servers for spamming from their hosting provider in the usa).
Posted 17 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

Mitchell Geere says:

Why not just contact Charl directly and ask him wtf!?
Posted 17 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

coda  Pro User  says:

It's not my problem anymore. I'm just making noise. ;)
Posted 17 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

Jason Bagley  Pro User  says:

@bsdguru - Blueworld does their own hosting as they are owned by 24.com.

Secondly, lets first get a comment from Blueworld before jumping to conclusions about spamming and the likes. :)
Posted 17 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

Paul Watson  Pro User  says:

Do you have a catch-all email? I have and spammers just rotate through the dictionary on domain names. Hopefully that is the reason here and not someone selling your details.
Posted 17 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

coda  Pro User  says:

@Paul: nope I setup unique aliases
Posted 17 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

alistair.pott says:

I also got an invite from Jade - maybe we ran the same race!
Posted 17 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

charl.norman says:

“What a Blue Monday! We just want to come out and apologize for sending the Blueworld invite to a private email addresses. We want to tell people about our service and use one of our top users 'J-Princess' as the face of Blueworld.

We are obviously very excited to share our product which is getting better and better all the time with the market and used the wrong channels to market it.” – the Blueworld team.

“It’s a case of overzealous entrepreneurialism on the part of the Blueworld guys and we would like to end this activity here.

24.com was definitely not aware of the action in question but are confident from our referral sources that this is not how Blueworld is growing.

The guys are great guys and have no bad intentions. They love their brand and wanted to tell people about it - but have learned that there are rules

to play by and that being associated to a big media company brings attention to every action. We have many plans and budget to grow Blueworld this year and these do not include any wrong doing – particularly spamming people. This is not how we do business. We would like to put this behind us and look to a bright future.

24.com has built a great online business in the SA market over the past 9 years through fair-play and we are proud of this fact. Our values will not tolerate these tactics and we would like to end this issue here. It has been an important learning experience for the guys.

We are still very happy with the investment choice in Blueworld. The guys have a fantastic product and we should have no problem continuing to grow through legitimate channels.”

* Elan Lohmann, General Manager of Social Networking and Media at 24.com (24.com owns a majority share of Blueworld Communities)

(feel free to contact me elan.lohmann (at) SA.24.com
Posted 17 months ago. ( permalink )

view profile

coda  Pro User  says:

Hi Elan, thanks for your e-mail address. Next time I launch a new site I'll be sure to let you know about it.
Posted 17 months ago. ( permalink )

Would you like to comment?

Sign up for a free account, or sign in (if you're already a member).

[?]
view photos Uploaded on July 18, 2008
by coda

coda's photostream

5,498
uploads

This photo also belongs to:

Around the web (Set)

227
items
Part of: Design

Screen shots (Set)

335
items

Tags

Additional Information

AttributionNoncommercialShare Alike Some rights reserved Anyone can see this photo

Add to your map