new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
BENS - Demolition Alert! | by colros
Back to photostream

BENS - Demolition Alert!

BENS, a classic Streamlined Moderne restaurant in Montreal, visited by many celebrities, is being sold and is in grave danger of being demolished. Sam Benatar, president of SIDEV, the developer, has declared, "It isn't worth anything." It is very ironic that there is now an exhibition at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts on Streamlined Design, www.mmfa.qc.ca/en/expositions/exposition_43.html with carefully preserved examples of Streamlined Modern design but a beautiful public example of it is about to be destroyed. Surely, BENS is as important to preserve as the objects in the museum exhibit.

 

BENS was designed by Charles Davis Goodman (1894-1962), who was one of the architects of a number of well-known Montreal buildings, including the now demolished, and much mourned, 1948 Laurentien Hotel, the 1931 Jewish General Hospital and the 1948 Pascal Hardware. Goodman, a McGill University graduate, was elected a fellow of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada in 1955.

 

See artdecomontreal.com/pages/news.htm for full alert.

 

If you care, please send an email to these people in any language and forward this alert to anyone else who cares about good and historic design.

  

Josette Laurin, Josette.Laurin@mcc.gouv.qc.ca

Yves Laliberté, yves.laliberte@mcc.gouv.qc.ca

Caroline Dubuc, cdubuc@ville.montreal.qc.ca

Karim Boulos, karimboulos@ville.montreal.qc.ca

Benoit Labonté, benoitlabonte@ville.montreal.qc.ca

Melanie Faucher, melaniefaucher@ville.montreal.qc.ca

Catherine Sevigny, catherinesevigny@ville.montreal.qc.ca

Gerald Tremblay, geraldtremblay@ville.montreal.qc.ca

Lucienne Robillard, Robillard.L@parl.gc.ca

Josée Verner, Verner.J@parl.gc.ca

SIDEV, info@sidev.com

Jacques Chagnon, jchagnon@assnat.qc.ca

Christine St-Pierre, ministre@mcccf.gouv.qc.ca

 

6,128 views
4 faves
10 comments
Taken on May 26, 2007