What is People in Photos?
People in Photos is a new feature that enables our members to identify their fellow members in photos and videos on Flickr.
As more people are added to photos and videos, you’ll be able to put faces to names across the Flickrverse (e.g. your contacts). The People in Photos launch also introduces a new layout to your member profile that surfaces photos of you. Here’s a sample:
How do I add a person to a photo?
To get started, click the “Add a person” link that’s under “People in this photo” on the right-hand side of a photo page. Type the name or email of the person featured.
Alternatively you can add a person by double-clicking or click-and-dragging directly on a photo (this won't work for videos).
If a photo features many people, you can add a face boundary around each person to help sort the individual tree from the forest. Click on the icon next to their name and then position the face boundary that appears on the photo, so it identifies the person in question.
Who can add me to a photo?
By default, any Flickr member can add you to a photo.
Who can add people to my photos?
The same people who can add notes and tags to your photos can also add people.
You may also change these permissions on a per-photo basis.
Who can see which members are featured in a photo?
Anyone who has permission to view a photo or video will be able to see who is featured in that photo (or video).
In addition to this, anyone who is added to a photo will be granted permission to see it for as long as they're featured in that photo.
So if you add someone to a photo that you’re sharing as “Family only” and the person in question is not currently listed as your Family, they’ll still have viewing permissions extended to them for that particular photo.
Can I add someone who isn’t a Flickr member to a photo?
People in Photos is all about featuring our current members.
If you want to indicate that a non-Flickr member is in a photo, add them to the photo using their email address (no-one else will be able to see it). We'll then send them an email introducing them to Flickr and the People in Photos feature.
How can I remove myself from a photo?
To remove yourself from a photo, find the "People in this photo" section on the right hand side of the photo page, then click the "x" to the right of your screen name. No one else will be able to re-add you to the photo (but you can re-add yourself).
You can also set your preference for who can add you to a photo. While the default is "Any Flickr member", you can change this to our standards of "Only you", "Your Friends and/or Family", "Your Family", "Your Friends", and "Your Contacts."
If you’d prefer to remove yourself from all the photos and videos that feature you, hit the big "REMOVE ME FROM ALL PHOTOS” button that’s on your People in photos preference page. This will not only remove you from those photos, but will also prevent you from being added back. Please note, like all red buttons on Flickr, it can’t be undone. Really.
How will I know when I’m added to a photo?
You’ll receive a one-time FlickrMail the first time someone adds you to a photo, or adds a person to one of your photos.
From then on, when someone adds you to a photo or video it will show up on your home page along with the photo you were added to, and also in your Recent Activity.
(To be notified about your Recent Activity, turn on Email Notifications.)
Why am I having difficulty adding someone to a photo?
Because every member has a choice on whether or not they want to participate in People in Photos, there may be times when you’re not able to add someone to a photo or video on Flickr.
Reasons for this may include:
- The photo owner has limited who can add metadata to their photos (notes, tags, etc.).
- An individual has limited who can add them to photos on Flickr.
- On a photo that is marked as "Friends", "Family", "Friends and Family", or "Private", only the photo owner can add other people. (Because a member will always be able to see the photos they're in, only the photo owner has the right to extend viewing privileges for these photos.)
- A member is blocking you.