FlickrCentral / Discuss

Current Discussion

This gives photographers a bad name...
Latest: 7 seconds ago
Look through the photostream of the person above you and choose your favourite
Latest: 2 minutes ago
Professional Photographer Talks About the Realities of the Photography Business
Latest: 6 minutes ago
Books: the chemistry of photography
Latest: 19 minutes ago
Puritan Porn Paranoia. Tilting at Windmills.
Latest: 55 minutes ago
Not just another copyright infringement; this one's, um, amusing.
Latest: 5 hours ago
CloudPic
Latest: 27 hours ago
Yahoo kills Flickr!!!
Latest: 34 hours ago
Sharpening in PS Raw Converter - Am I Going Crazy?
Latest: 34 hours ago
journalist who used a photograph of mine without asking!
Latest: 2 days ago
Post your Galleries here
Latest: 3 days ago
Syria and Lebanon "Descending into sectarian civil war"
Latest: 3 days ago
More...

Search this group's discussions

Polimedia.us?

view profile

Doodle-Zook says:

Just received this e-mail from the above mentioned site.

Seems a bit weird. Anyone else seen this? Any thoughts or feedback? Sounds like a scam in the making.

Next I'll bet they'll want my user id and password so they can place their free ad, right?

------------------------------


Hello,

We have reviewed your www.flickr.com/photos/zook360/ blog on behalf
of one of our clients that would be interested in placing advertising
with you.

Client profile :
DoingFine (http://doingfine.org)
New project (<1 month old)
Theme A forum dedicated to those things that came out right
and worked out fine.

We'd like either a 150x150 button, 160x600 skyscraper or 468x60 full
banner (or footer). Alternatively, we may be interested in text-only
advertising.

This would be a weekly, monthly or yearly arrangement. In either case
we will require a one time, one day (24 hours) free placement in order
to test the quality and quantity of traffic your website can actually
provide*. Within this interval, we will make a final determination,
based on the traffic volume, quality, and your asking price. Should
we find your terms acceptable, this trial day will count towards the
agreed interval.

Kindly let us know if you would be interested, which arrangement best
suits your editorial needs, and what rates you would like to charge.
We prefer using PayPal but may be able to accommodate alternative
payment methods.

Thank you.

*Please note that we employ software that reliably detects autoclick
and autosurf bots, pay per click and paid to surf type traffic, and
other such non-human traffic. This may be a concern for you,
especially if you are buying "bulk traffic", or employing the
services of dubious "SEO experts".
Posted at 10:39AM, 28 February 2008 PDT (permalink)

view photostream

Walwyn  Pro User  says:

www.nasw.org/users/nbauman/arkell.htm

HTH
Posted 52 months ago. (permalink)

view photostream

zyrcster is a group administrator zyrcster  Pro User  says:

Sounds like they have no clue as to how Flickr works, and the fact that you cannot post advertising to a Flickr account.
Posted 52 months ago. (permalink)

Len Scaps [deleted] says:

"Polimedia is a fast growing corporation with American and Romanian interest, and stands out by its dedication to providing customers with services they need at prices they can afford to pay"

The site is about a year old
Posted 52 months ago. (permalink)

view photostream

小狼  Pro User  says:

I got this message, too.
The content of the message is almost the same.
Posted 52 months ago. (permalink)

Lesstimeonlinein09 [deleted] says:

All my spam mail is of a much lower class, increasing penis size and the like.
It all deletes just fine, though.
Posted 52 months ago. (permalink)

view photostream

shaikira says:

I just got this email too. For my website ShaiKira. Is it spam?

Polimedia talks about it's client, doingfine.org. Looks like a google adsense advert. or is it not?
Posted 52 months ago. (permalink)

view photostream

mendhak  Pro User  says:

Have a look at their website:

polimedia.us/index.php?lang=en

Do you really want to be associated with a company that can't figure out how to set style="border:0px;" on their images?
Posted 52 months ago. (permalink)

Would you like to comment?

Sign up for a free account, or sign in (if you're already a member).

RSS 2.0 feedSubscribe to a feed of stuff on this page...</!!> Feed – Subscribe to FlickrCentral discussion threads